Have you ever heard of a mystery quilt? There are several different ways they can be done (online, magazine, etc). I’ve joined a few online, where I am given fabric requirements and an idea on tone, but have no idea what the final result will look like.

A friend asked why I would do such a thing, and exclaimed that she didn’t have time to make a quilt just for the sake of quilting…it had to have a purpose. For me, I use mystery quilts to build my skills and learn the secrets of other, more experienced, quilters.

This is the first mystery quilt I ever did.

mystery 1

 

I love how the blocks look different depending on the color. I still need to actually quilt it, but I finished the top πŸ™‚

I have another few that are in process….

Step3 Q1 Sm Step3 Q2 sm

 

These are two tops that need borders. I wasn’t loving the layout as the mystery played out, but a little slicing, twisting and sewing gave me this instead. If you look, you will see diamonds, or maybe pinwheels with a frame? I love the movement in these tops. You can see others atΒ http://www.quiltersclubofamerica.com/ and go to the mystery quilt workshop (MQ7) I’m hoping to have one done for my mom for Christmas.

I’m working on Bonnie Hunter’s Mystery Quilt “Easy Street”. We are on step 3

Fabric Selection 1This was a sampling of the fabrics I picked. Bonnie is using gray where I’m using aqua, purple where I’m using pink, turquoise where I’m using yellow and lime green where I’m using gray. I tweaked my selections after this picture, but this is a pretty close representation.

3 wall

123

These two show a shot of steps 1, 2 & 3.

12wall

This is an up close shot of steps 1 & 2 (only a small sampling of all the units)

3

 

This is step 3… this is one of each of the yellows I’m using

123one

 

So far, these are what we’ve made… tons and tons of these πŸ™‚ I’m curious to see how it comes together. I like how the colors are playing together (that yellow isn’t really that bright). It’s not too late to join the fun, or just to wander over and check out what others are doing at

http://quiltville.blogspot.com/2012/12/mystery-monday-link-up-part-3.html

Karyn

 

