Drumroll…………..

My bag

ImageImage

SO…from the scraps gifted to me a week ago…. My New Bag! I’m pretty excited! I had no pattern, and I’ve never made a bag…

I LOVE the paisley! I knew as soon as I saw it it needed to be a bag! It’s reversible too *grin* It’s a little hard to see, but I used some of the paisley scrap (which there was VERY little of!) to add stripes to the corduroy and a “pocket-topper” on the inside. The exterior pocket took FOREVER..but that’s okay. I LOVE it!

Less than a week from start to finish….I totally get a gold star!

AND….. another drum roll (please??)

Image

My first ever Dresden Plate

Image

Cut down to 9 1/2″ square (Thank you Michele for the extra inch allowance).

This is for the Modern Mini Mystery Round Robin by Michele at Quilts from My Crayon Box

The idea was from Scrap Patches “Dare to Dresden” Blog Hop organized by Madame Samm at Sew We Quilt

I had a small issue with the center circle…but shhh, don’t tell, maybe it’ll look like I planned that addition….

My Theme is “All Year ‘Round 2013” and I’m hoping that the quilters who are adding to my quilt will add holiday/seasonal things so that this really becomes a fun representation of a typical year in anyone’s life. The breakdown starts with the black background with squiggles

Squiggles – Happy New Year!

Snowmen – January

Patriots – Super Bowl

Hearts – Valentines

Shamrocks – St. Paddy’s Day

Rain/Umbrella – April Showers

Eggs – Easter

Flowers – May Flowers

Red/White/Blue – Memorial Day

Baseball – June

Stars – Independence Day

Lighthouse – August

Fishing Lures – Summer/August

School – September

Harvest – Fall

Spiderwebs – Halloween

Pumpkins – Halloween/Thanksgiving/Autumn

Leaves – Autumn

Red/Green Stripe – Christmas

Trees – Winter

Popping it in the mail tomorrow to the first recipient.. Can’t wait for July to see what comes back to us! Hoping for something to use in our living room on the couch 🙂 I’m including a note about our family to offer some direction.

K

Quilts From My Crayon Box

