Are you familiar with Project Quilting? If not, you can check out the details here….

Every other week, a challenge is issued at noon on Sunday (CT). Each participant is given one week to create anything that fits the challenge. The basic rules are the same every week. (Your project does not need to be a traditional quilt, but must meet at least one of these requirements: Include patchwork, Include applique or have 3 layers stitched together by hand or machine.) In addition, each week there are additional limitations or things you must include/omit.

The week in-between challenges is used for voting….so, be sure to head on over and check out the projects and vote for your favorites! (Hopefully mine will be among them, but if not, no hard feelings!)

This weeks Challenge is called “Sweet Treats”. We had to create something based on one or more candies.

I had a long list of possibilities….. but ruled ideas out one at a time, until I was left with something I was completely excited by!

ImageImage

This is a table just inside our door that usually holds a basket with gloves/hats/scarves, etc, puzzles (you can see them in the background on the stairs) and a few other assorted things that are headed in/out. (Our landing zone/prep area for the next day). This is in the middle of the kids play area, and we are continually making blanket forts (that fall apart).

So…… I thought it would be fun to make a Gingerbread House…but it needed to be able to stay out year round…..so “Gingerbread Off Season” was born.

Image

This was the first panel I did. I made the Lollipops into flowers, and added “dots” and the “frosting”. Here are a couple close ups of the details

Image

 

Image

Let me just say…I LOVE this! But…it took FOREVER!

The next panel was a lot quicker….and I love it just as much!!

Image

Here’s a close up of the stitching

Image

Absolutely love this end too! Was tempted to add an owl…..but decided to leave it for now….it I want to add one later, I can always do that.

The light brown is a hole for me to be able to see in or for the kids to be able to chat, and to let light and air in.

I was a little stumped on the front. At first I had it all the same (one enormous bakery), but then felt bad for my son because he always seems to get the left overs….so I started thinking about what could I add that would be just for him…. I debated on a book store, a hardware store, an auto repair shop…… and as I was searching around for clip art for templates, I realized his tools were all sitting in a bag and never got used…..so……

Image

Image

Image

I am so thrilled with this entire project! The top of the table still has the puzzles and the basket of winter clothes, the kids are under there reading and playing….and the tools are being used!

Image

I added some velcro to the sides so they could still go in and out, but they could also close them up if they wanted to!Image

Image

I feel like I kept a decent balance between what the kids would like, and what would work with our decor. I totally feel like I nailed the challenge! The best part is? I’ve already won because my kids LOVE it!! (and to be honest? So do I!!)

 

